MATH
21 B
Mathematics Math21b Spring 2018
Linear Algebra and Differential Equations
Homework
Course Head: Oliver Knill
Office: SciCtr 432
  • Homework is always due the next class. There are exceptions around midterms.
  • The Tue/Thu section has the same homework.
  • Homework is due at the beginning of class. We have a strict no late HW policy. You have 3 ``jokers": this means that we will delete the least 3 HW scores at the end.
  • Collaborations and discussions with class mates, TF's and CA's are welcome, you must write down each home work on your own.
  • Checking work with a computer algebra system is allowed. We encourage exclusively to work on paper as during exams, no electronic tools are available and writing things down enhances the learning process. If you use help from a computer algebra system for the computation, acknowledge that in the paper.
  • Use words to explain your work, if necessary. Show your work. Give details of your work. Unless stated, answers only will be given no credit.
  • Homework is graded on a 10 points scale. There are 5 problems per day, 50 points maximal per day and 150 points maximal a week.
Homework rule: We have a strict no late homework policy. Homework is due in class. In case of illness (bring documentation from the Harvard University health service) we will average with less HW sets in this case. In case of non-documented illness, or forgotten homework, a jokers is invoked. Please do not ask for homework extension.
Lecture Number Assignment Due Solutions
lecture 1 hw01.pdf Due: Mon 1/29/2018 rsp. Tue 1/30/2018 hw01-sol.pdf
lecture 2 hw02.pdf Due: Wed 1/31/2018 rsp. Thu 2/1/2018 hw02-sol.pdf
lecture 3 hw03.pdf Due: Fri 2/2/2018 rsp. Tue 2/6/2018 hw03-sol.pdf
lecture 4 hw04.pdf Due: Mon 2/5/2018 rsp. Tue 2/6/2018 hw04-sol.pdf
lecture 5 hw05.pdf Due: Wed 2/7/2018 rsp. Thu 2/8/2018 hw05-sol.pdf
lecture 6 hw06.pdf Due: Fri 2/9/2018 rsp. Tue 2/12/2018
lecture 7 hw07.pdf Due: Mon 2/12/2018 rsp. Tue 2/13/2018
lecture 8 hw08.pdf Due: Wed 2/14/2018 rsp. Thu 2/15/2018
lecture 9 hw09.pdf Due: Fri 2/16/2018 rsp. Tue 2/20/2018
lecture 10 hw10.pdf Due: Wed 2/21/2018 rsp. Thu 2/22/2018
lecture 11 hw11.pdf Due: Fri 2/23/2018 rsp. Tue 2/27/2018
lecture 12 hw12.pdf Due: Mon 2/26/2018 rsp. Tue 2/27/2018
Please send questions and comments to knill@math.harvard.edu
Math21b Harvard College Course ID:110989| Oliver Knill | Spring 2018 | Department of Mathematics | Faculty of Art and Sciences | Harvard University, [Canvas, for admin], Twitter